Configuration

This documentation explains all Configuration options of VP Advanced User component.

General

Email As Username

If yes, no username field is be displayed in registration form. Users need to use their registered email address for login instead of username.

Registration

Show Confirm Email

If yes, confirm email field is displayed after email field in registration form.

Show Confirm Password

If yes, confirm password field is displayed after password field in registration form.

Validate Username & Email

If yes, username and email address availability are validated immediately over Ajax in registration form.

Live Validate Password

If yes, password is validated immediately as per minimum password strength setting in core Joomla Users Configuration.

Show Password Strength

If yes, password strength meter is displayed below the password field in registration form.

Show Resend Activation Link

If yes and if User Activation is enabled in core Joomla Users Configuration then resend activation link is displayed.

Article

Show Author Profile

Global settings to Author Profile in articles. Show brief profile of the author above or below Joomla article. You can also alter this settings in individual articles and also in the menu item options.

Profile Picture

Maximum Upload Size (KB)

The maximum size for an upload (in kilobytes). Use zero for no limit. Note: your server has a maximum limit.

Width (in Pixel)

Set the mamimum width for profile pictures in pixels. Images will be resized as per the set width x height proportion.

Height (in Pixel)

Set the mamimum height for profile pictures in pixels. Images will be resized as per the set width x height proportion.

Encode Image URL

If yes, profile picture is displayed in base64 encoded form (Data URI). Enable this option if you want to hide the actual path/url of the image i your site.

Social Authentication

This section manages the configurations for Social Authentication system of VP Advanced User component.

General

Enable Social Authentication

Global switch to enable or disable social authentication system. Set this yes to enable social login/registration options.

Show in Login Form

If yes, social authentication options are displayed in login form. Default is 'Yes'.

Show in Registration

If yes, social authentication options are displayed in registration form. Default is 'No'.

Auto Registration

If yes, user is automatically registered to the site after receiving valid information from selected social authentication provider. If no, user will have to manually enter their username and password after receiving verified email address from selected social authentication provider.

Disable User Activation

Disable user activation through email when email address is fetched from selected external source. If yes, user account is automatically activated after registration. This option is applicable only when User Activation option is enabled in core Joomla Users Configuration.

Auto Login After Registration

If yes, users will be logged in automatically to the site immediately after successful registration. This option is applicable only when Auto Registration and Disable User Activation options are enabled.

Silent Login

If yes, user login is done without triggering core Joomla user plugin events. You may enable this only when you are facing problem with auto login.

Use Popup Window

If yes, social login/registration/linking activities are processed within a popup window when social buttons are clicked. We recommend to keep this option disabled for better compatibilty with all browsers.

Facebook

Enable Facebook

If yes, Facebook authentication option is displayed.

App ID

Your valid Facebook App ID.

App Secret

Your valid Facebook App Secret.

Valid Redirect URIs

This is a readonly field which displays you a list of redirect URIs which need to be authorised in the authentication provider's API. You will need them while create your App at Facebook.

Refer to this documentation to learn How to create Facebook Authentication App.

Google

Enable Google

If yes, Google authentication option is displayed.

Client Key

Your valid Google Client Key.

Client Secret

Your valid Google Client Secret.

Valid Redirect URIs

This is a readonly field which displays you a list of redirect URIs which need to be authorised in the authentication provider's API. You will need them while create your App/Project at Google.

Refer to this documentation to learn How to create Google Authentication Project.

Twitter

Enable Twitter

If yes, Twitter authentication option is displayed.

Consumer Key

Your valid Twitter Consumer Key.

Consumer Secret

Your valid Twitter Consumer Secret.

Valid Redirect URIs

This is a readonly field which displays you a redirect URI which needs to be authorised in the authentication provider's API. You will need it while create your App at Twitter.

Refer to this documentation to learn How to create Twitter Authentication App.

Live (Microsoft Live or Windows Live)

Enable Live

If yes, Microsoft Live authentication option is displayed.

Consumer Key

Your valid Live Consumer Key.

Consumer Secret

Your valid Live Consumer Secret.

Valid Redirect URIs

This is a readonly field which displays you list of redirect URIs which need to be authorised in the authentication provider's API. You will need them while create your App at Live.

Refer to this documentation to learn How to create Live Authentication App.

Yahoo

Enable Yahoo

If yes, Yahoo! authentication option is displayed.

Client Key

Your valid Yahoo Client Key.

Client Secret

Your valid Yahoo Client Secret.

Valid Redirect URIs

This is a readonly field which displays you a redirect URI which needs to be authorised in the authentication provider's API. You will need it while create your App at Yahoo!.

Refer to this documentation to learn How to create Yahoo! Authentication App.

LinkedIn

Enable LinkedIn

If yes, LinkedIn authentication option is displayed.

Client ID

Your valid LinkedIn Client ID.

Client Secret

Your valid LinkedIn Client Secret.

Valid Redirect URIs

This is a readonly field which displays you a list of redirect URIs which need to be authorised in the authentication provider's API. You will need them while create your App at LinkedIn!.

Refer to this documentation to learn How to create LinkedIn Authentication App.

Foursquare

Enable Foursquare

If yes, Foursquare authentication option is displayed.

Client ID

Your valid Foursquare Client ID.

Client Secret

Your valid Foursquare Client Secret.

Valid Redirect URIs

This is a readonly field which displays you a list of redirect URIs which need to be authorised in the authentication provider's API. You will need them while create your App at Foursquare!.

Refer to this documentation to learn How to create Foursquare Authentication App.

OpenID

Enable OpenID

If yes, OpenID authentication option is displayed.

Advanced

Manage Core Login

Manage core Joomla login forms to accept Email as Username or both as per VP Advanced User's General Configuration.

Remove Forgot Username

If yes, Forgot Username links are removed using JavaScript if Email as Username option is enabled in VP Advanced User's General Configuration.

Override Language

If yes, VP Advanced User automatically creates and manages the language overrides for core Joomla User Login Form and for login error messages. This helps the core login forms to show correct label for the username field.

Redirect Core

Redirect core Joomla! Users Component views to respective VP Advanced Users component views. Select any of the following options from the drop down list - No, Admin Only, Site Only, Admin + Site.

Debug

If yes, component debug information is stored log folder. In case of social login troubles raw error message is also displayed.

VirtueMart

The following option is displayed if VirtueMart Component is installed in your site.

Manage Username Field

If yes, Username field in core VirtueMart forms are removed using JavaScript if Email as Username option is enabled in VP Advanced User's General Configuration.